Thursday, February 16, 2023

A timeline of works related to Bad Men book

Here's a partial timeline of works, published since 1999 that I cover in my book Bad Men

Aaron McGruder launches syndicated comic strip, The Boondocks.
2001: Colson Whitehead publishes John Henry Days.
2001: Ta-Nehisi Coates publishes "The Last Angry Man."
2001: Kevin Young publishes To Repel Ghosts: Five Sides in B Minor.
2001: Cornelius Eady publishes Brutal Imagination.
2002:  Amiri Baraka performs his poem "Jungle Jim Flunks His Screen Test" on April 6.
2003: Aaron McGruder publishes A Right to be Hostile: A Boondocks Treasury.
2003: Amiri Baraka publishes Somebody Blew Up America & Other Poems.
2005: Aaron McGruder’s The Boondocks television series premiers.
2005: Tyehimba Jess publishes Leadbelly.
2005: Kevin Young publishes To Repel Ghosts: Remixed from the Original Masters
2006: Greg Tate published "Eulogy for Black Caesar" on December 26. 
2006: Opal Palmer Adisa publishes "Peeling Off the Skin."
2006: Evie Shockley publishes "From the Lost Letters of Frederick Douglass."
2006: Vievee Francis publishes Blue-Tail Fly.
2008: Ta-Nehisi Coates publishes The Beautiful Struggle.
2008: Kyle Baker publishes Nat Turner.
2008: Ta-Nehisi Coates publishes "‘This Is How We Lost to the White Man.’"
2010: Jay Z publishes Decoded.
2012: Colson Whitehead publishes "A Psychotronic Childhood: Learning from B-movies."
2012: Ta-Nehisi Coates publishes "Fear of a Black President."
2012: Trymaine Lee begins publishing articles about the killing of Trayvon Martin on March 8.
2012: Ta-Nehisi Coates begins blogging about Trayvon Martin on March 13.
2012: Reginald Flood publishes Coffle.
2013: Tony Medina publishes Broke Baroque.
2013: Mark Anthony Neal publishes Looking for Leroy: (Il)Legible Black Masculinities.
2013: Adrian Matejka publishes The Big Smoke.
2013: Reginald Harris publishes Autogeography.
2013: Jason McCall publishes Dear Hero,.
2014: Trymaine Lee begins publishing articles about the shooting death of Mike Brown on August 11.
2014: Jay-Z and Jay Electronica release "We Made It (Remix)."
2015: Ta-Nehisi Coates publishes Between the World and Me.
2015: Paul Beatty publishes The Sellout.
2015: Jay-Z performs "Tidal freestyle."
2016: Ta-Nehisi Coates publishes Black Panther #1. 
2017: Black Thought performs freestyle on December 14.


Note: For a 30% discount, use the promo code 10FEB23 when and if purchasing the book on the University of Virginia Press site.  (For February 2023 only).

No comments: