Sunday, May 21, 2023

Volumes by black poets, 1980 - 1989

What follows is an incomplete list of volumes by black poets published between 1980 - 1989. 

1980: The Yellow House on the Corner by Rita Dove
1980: Passion by June Jordan 
1980: Two-Headed Woman by Lucille Clifton
1982: New Music - New Poetry (album) by Amiri Baraka with David Murray And Steve McCall
1982: The Mud Actor by Cyrus Cassells
1982: The Blues Don't Change: New and Selected Poems by Al Young
1982: Poems of Love and Understanding by Lenard D. Moore
1982: There It Is (album) by Jayne Cortez
1982: Chosen Poems: Old and New by Audre Lorde
1982: Season of Hunger/Cry of Rain: Poems 1975-1980 by E. Ethelbert Miller
1982: The Mojo Hands Call, I Must Go by Sterling Plumpp
1982: Firespitter by Jayne Cortez
1983: Museum by Rita Dove
1983: Those Who Ride The Night Winds by Nikki Giovanni 
1983: Imagoes by Wanda Coleman
1984: Across the Mutual Landscape by Christopher Gilbert
1984: Homegirls & Handgrenades by Sonia Sanchez
1984: Copacetic by Yusef Komunyakaa
1984: Skulls Along the River by Quincy Troupe
1984: Coagulations: New and Selected Poems by Jayne Cortez
1985: On Wings Made of Gauze by Nikky Finney
1985: Mama's Promises by Marilyn Nelson
1985: The Open Eye by Lenard D. Moore
1985: Eroding Witness by Nathaniel Mackey
1985: Healing Song for the Inner Ear by Michael S. Harper
1985: Living Room: New Poem by June Jordan
1986: I Apologize for the Eyes in My Head by Yusef Komunyakaa
1986: Thomas and Beulah by Rita Dove 
1986: Our Dead Behind Us by Audre Lorde
1986: Toys in a Field by Yusef Komunyakaa
1986: Maintain Control (album) by Jayne Cortez
1986: Where Are the Love Poems for Dictators? by E. Ethelbert Miller
1986: Sin by Ai
1986: Victims of the Latest Dance Craze by Cornelius Eady
1987: Good Woman: Poems and a Memoir: 1969–1980 by Lucille Clifton
1987: Next: New Poems by Lucille Clifton
1987: Killing Memory, Seeking Ancestors by Haki Madhubuti 
1987: Heavy Daughter Blues: Poems & Stories 1968-1986 by Wanda Coleman
1987: Under a Soprano Sky by Sonia Sanchez
1988: Ten Oxherding Pictures by Lucille Clifton
1988: Dien Cai Dau by Yusef Komunyakaa
1989: Grace Notes by Rita Dove
1989: Blues: The Story Always Untold by Sterling Plumpp
1989: Lyrical Campaigns: Selected Poems by June Jordan
1989: Captivity by Toi Derricotte
1989: Naming Our Destiny: New and Selected Poems by June Jordan

No comments: