Thursday, November 22, 2018

Black women literature scholars -- distinguished professors and endowed chairs

Joycelyn Moody

For a while now, I've been meaning to complete and post this list -- black women distinguished and endowed professors -- as a complement to a project I was working on concerning black women in leadership positions - deans, directors, and presidents. A recent Facebook post by Gabrielle Foreman prompted me to get moving. The list, of course, is not exhaustive.

Elizabeth Alexander – Wun Tsun Tam Mellon Professor in the Humanities – Columbia University

Valerie Babb – Andrew Mellon Professor of Humanities in African American Studies and English – Emory University

Emily Bernard – Julian Lindsay Green and Gold Professor of English – University of Vermont

Kinitra Brooks Jallow – Leslie Endowed Chair in Literary Studies – Michigan State University

Lois Brown – the Class of 1958 Distinguished Professor – Wesleyan

Hazel Carby – Charles C & Dorathea S Dilley Prof African American Studies & American Studies – Yale University

Thadious Davis – Geraldine R. Segal Professor of American Social Thought and Professor of English -- University of Pennsylvania

Simone C. Drake – Hazel C. Youngberg Trustees Distinguished Professor & Department Chair Faculty – Ohio State University

Michele Elam – William Robertson Coe Professor – Stanford University

P. Gabrielle Foreman – Ned B. Allen Professor of English Professor of Black American Studies & History – University of Delaware

• Frances Smith Foster (now retired) – Charles Howard Candler Professor of English and Women's Studies – Emory University

Maryemma Graham – Distinguished Professor – University of Kansas

Tara T. Green – Linda Arnold Carlisle Excellence Professor of Women's and Gender Studies – University of North Carolina-Greensboro

Farah Jasmine Griffin – William B. Ransford Professor of English and Comparative Literature and African-American Studies – Columbia

Kim F. Hall - Lucyle Hook Professor of English - Barnard College

Donna Akiba Harper – Fuller E. Callaway Professor – Spelman

Trudier Harris – University Distinguished Research Professor – University of Alabama

Karla FC Holloway – James B. Duke Professor Emerita of English – Duke University

Sonja Lanehart – Brackenridge Endowed Chair in Literature and the Humanities – University of Texas at San Antonio

Deborah McDowell – Alice Griffin Professor of English and Director, Carter G. Woodson Institute for African-American and African Studies – University of Virginia

Joycelyn Moody – Sue E. Denman Distinguished Chair in American Literature – University of Texas at San Antonio

Imani Perry –  Hughes-Rogers Professor of African American Studies –  Princeton University

• Mona Lisa Saloy – Conrad N. Hilton Endowed Professor of English – Dillard University

Tracy Sharpley-Whiting – Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Distinguished Professor of French – Vanderbilt University

Beverly Guy-Sheftall – Anna Julia Cooper Professor of Women’s Studies – Spelman College

Hortense Jeanette Spillers – Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor – Vanderbilt University

Rhondda Robinson Thomas – Calhoun Lemon Professor of Literature – Clemson University

Salamishah Tillet – Henry Rutgers Chair of African American Studies and Creative Writing – Rutgers Newark.

Cheryl A. Wall – Board of Governors Zora Neale Hurston Distinguished Professor of English – Rutgers

Mary Helen Washington – Distinguished University Professor in the English Department – University of Maryland

Michelle M. Wright – Augustus Baldwin Longstreet Professor of English – Emory University

Black women leadership in the academy and beyond
African American Poets and Academic Appointments


Unknown said...

Thanks! Great list!

Unknown said...

What a distinguished list! So proud of them all!